Ignition Coil & Spark Plugs (DOHC & SOHC)
Header is explicitly “DOHC SOHC” — covers both engines on one page; individual sub-sections below are labeled where the source specifies one engine only.
Ignition coil test
Secondary type coil
- Use an Ohm meter as shown to check the ohm limit.
- Limit: 17~25 kΩ
Single type coil
- Use a multi-meter and a 1.5V battery set up as shown in the diagram.
- Disconnect the electrical connection and test the circuit patterns at the connector. If one circuit fails, replace the coil.
(verify printed p.161) — the connector pin test table (3-pin connector, PWR ON / PWR OFF circuit continuity pattern) did not survive OCR as a usable grid; only fragments (“Connector Pin 1 2 3”, “PWR ON (-)…(+)”, “PWR OFF”) are legible. Do not rely on a reconstructed pin-out from this pass — check the printed page or figure directly before testing a coil.
(verify printed p.161) — the source does not state whether “Secondary type” and “Single type” refer to SOHC vs DOHC coil designs specifically, or to two coil designs used across model years/trims. Do not assume one type maps to our truck’s DOHC turbo engine without confirming against the figure.
Spark plug wire test (SOHC)
- Use an Ohm meter as shown and test ohm limits. If out of range, replace.
- Limit: 22 kΩ
(verify printed p.161) — this test is explicitly labeled SOHC only in the source. No parallel DOHC-labeled wire test appears on this page; whether that is because the DOHC engine (our truck) uses a different test method, a different page not captured in this chapter, or simply doesn’t require one, is not stated and should not be assumed.
Spark plugs & gap settings
- Remove spark plugs and inspect for damage or corrosion. If plugs are to be reused, they should be thoroughly cleaned and gapped to the specification below.
Note: standard spark plugs should be replaced every 40,000 km (24,855 mi). Iridium plugs every 100,000 km (62,137 mi).
| Manufacturer | Part number | Plug gap |
|---|---|---|
| NGK | DCPR7E | 0.8 |
| NIPPON DENSO | XU22EPRU-U | (verify printed p.161) |
(verify printed p.161) — the source lists two manufacturer/part-number rows but only one explicit gap value (0.8~0.9mm), positioned ambiguously between the two rows after OCR. Do not assume the NIPPON DENSO plug shares the NGK gap value, and do not assume either row is the SOHC-specific or DOHC-specific plug (standard vs Iridium) without checking the printed table — this mapping is not recoverable from the OCR text.
